Insurance Continuing Education Frequently Asked Questions (and Answers!) for Producers, Adjusters and Consultants
The following information applies to all Adjuster, Consultant and Producer licensees.
Do I have an insurance continuing education requirement?
All insurance producers, adjusters and consultant licensees must complete insurance continuing education as part of the biennial (two year) renewal process.
When must I file?
Every producer, adjuster and consultant license has a license lapse or renew by date on the upper right side. That is the date by which insurance continuing education requirements must be completed and filed.
How many credit hours must I complete?
Licensees must complete 24 credit hours of Montana-approved insurance continuing education. A minimum of 1 credit hour must address legislative changes to Montana insurance statutes and reports due on or after 1/1/2012 must include 3 credit hours of ethics.
Wait, I’m only licensed for the line of limited lines credit. What is my insurance continuing education requirement?
Producer licensees with only the line of limited lines credit must complete 5 credit hours of Montana-approved insurance continuing education in the categories of credit life and credit disability insurance, insurance law and/or ethics. A minimum of one credit must address legislative changes to Montana insurance statutes.
When may I earn my credit hours?
Credit hours are earned during the 24-month period that precedes the license lapse/renew by date on the face of the license. That allows 24 months to earn 24 credit hours.
Give me an example of that 24-month period.
The lapse date on the license is April 1, 2012. Insurance continuing education credit to apply to that filing date may be earned between April 1, 2010 and April 1, 2012. The credit hours must be filed with the Insurance Continuing Education Program on or before April 1, 2012.
What courses can I take to meet my requirement?
Producer, adjuster and consultant licensees can complete any Montana-approved insurance continuing education course. There is a list of providers that offer courses here on the State Auditor’s Office web site. Here is the link: https://sbs-mt.naic.org/Lion-Web/jsp/ext/login/launch.jsp
How do I find a course that addresses legislative changes to Montana insurance statutes?
There is a list of providers that offer these courses on the State Auditor’s Office web site. Here is the link: https://sbs-mt.naic.org/Lion-Web/jsp/ext/login/launch.jsp
Can I use extra credit for my next filing?
No, there is no rollover or carry over of excess credit hours earned in one biennial period to the next biennial period.
Can I repeat a course I took and reported on a continuing education filing?
No, there is no repeat of a course from the same course provider for credit in a biennial (2-year) period. A course of the same or similar title or topic offered by a different course provider is considered a different course, not a repeat.
I didn’t complete or report my required insurance continuing education by my license lapse/renew by date, now what?
Your Montana licensure lapsed on your license lapse/renew by date. You must complete the outstanding insurance continuing education credit and file a late renewal at www.nipr.com.
How long do I have to reinstate my licensure?
Licensees have 1 year from the license lapse date to reinstate a license. After that, the license terminates. The terminated licensee must retest and reapply to conduct Montana insurance business.
For more information please contact our licensing bureau at email@example.com